Autocorrect made easy

Who wants to type faster in Microsoft Office? Yes please, I do. So start using autocorrect. Autocorrect is a built in program within the Office suite that replaces words as you type. For example, if I type “commitee” it will autocorrect it to the correct version “committee”. That’s 2 t’s.The best part of autocorrect is that you can add to the built in list. Whenever I need to type my name all I do is type “sc” and it autocorrects it to “Steve Chase”

First thing you need to do is go into options. Using Word 2010, you would click File then click Options. Using Word 2007, you would click the office button (one of my students called it the pizza button because of its circle shape), then click Word options.

From the options dialog box, click the proofing tab, then click “Autocorrect

autocorrect

After clicking Autocorrect then type what you want to replace text with as you type followed up by clicking Add.

autocorrect

The example I have above is one that my wife used for her cookbooks. She types ” 1cf” and then hits the space bar and “1 cup flour…20 cents” appears.

Tip: Autocorrect is a feature that you only need to program it once and it will work on all the Microsoft programs. Get to the Autocorrect by going into the options dialog box from within any program.

Question: What will you add to your autocorrect to make typing documents faster?

About Steve Chase

Proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I like working with documents in Microsoft Office and QuickBooks. My wife shares her recipes from her cookbooks on her food blog @ 5dollardinners.com.
This entry was posted in Excel, PowerPoint, Publisher, Word and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autocorrect made easy

  1. Pingback: How to Enter Sample Filler Text in Microsoft Word | Steve Chase Docs

Leave a Reply

