Color email by person using Outlook 2010 Conditional Formatting

During my Office 2010 webinar I presented today, Greg asked me how to change the color of an email based on who it is from. I got tripped up because my memory had failed me. It is completely different than any past versions of Outlook. Thanks Greg for this great question. It will help out a lot of people be more productive.

First step: click the View tab, then click View Settings

Click View-then click View Settings Second step: click Conditional Formatting

Click Conditional Formatting

Third Step: Click Add and type the name of the rule

click add

Forth Step: click Font

outlook2010-click font

Fifth Step: change the color and make other formatting adjustments


TIP– In addition to changing the color, you can also change the font, size, and make the email bold/italic.

Sixth step: click Condition

click condition

Seventh step: Insert the email address for who you want the condition to work for then click ok

type email

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Outlook and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Color email by person using Outlook 2010 Conditional Formatting

  1. Cindy says:

    This was a fantastic find! I’ll be putting this information to good use right away! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. John Christovassilis says:

    Thanks Steve – I had forgotten how to do this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

