Publisher 2010 Custom Building Blocks

Publisher 2010 allows you to reuse content for your publications.  They are called building blocks.

building blocks publisher

Let me share with you the steps to creating your custom building block.

Step 1: Right click the object that you would like to use again in the future and chose “Save As Building Block…”

Publisher2010 Save As Building Block

Step 2: Name the building block and select a location for it. In this example, I saved mine to the Advertisements Gallery.

Publisher2010 name a building block

Step 3: When you are ready to insert your building block, click the Insert tab, then the building block gallery command you saved it in. Finally click the building block you want and it will appear in your publication.

Publisher 2010 insert a building block

That’s all there is! You will save time and have a greater sense of organization and productivity when you apply building blocks to your publications.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Publisher and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Publisher 2010 Custom Building Blocks

  1. Stephen says:

    I am preparing an article for a newsletter and would like to use a mobile phone image displaying my choice of text correspondence, can you assist me with this please.

Leave a Reply

