Measure growth using a formula in Microsoft Excel

Want to track how well your business is growing? You can with a growth formula. To get started, enter data from two comparable periods. For example, you might want to see income growth from year to year, or new customers from month to month.

growth formula

The example I’m using tracks growth in employees. First I  clicked on cell D2 where I want my calculation. I entered =(C2-B2)/B2 in the formula bar. Another way to look at this is =(current-previous)/previous. Once you enter the formula, format the result with the percent style as shown in the diagram.

The spreadsheet example lists 65 employees last year (cell B2) and this year we have 82 employees (cell C2).  The insight I take away from this that we experienced a 26% growth in employee additions.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Excel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

