Shrink to Fit Word Document on One Page

There are a couple of  steps to shrinking your Word doc to 1 page. I just said shrink.

Problem: You have a Word doc that is barely 2 pages in length and you want to make it 1 page.

Word 2010

Step 1: Click the drop down for the Quick Access Toolbar, then choose More Commands.

Quick Access Toolbar

Step 2: From the drop down menu under “Choose commands from:” select “All Commands”. Scroll down and double click “Shrink One Page”.

Shrink One Page Word 2010

Step 3: Click “Shrink to Fit” and the software will automatically attempt to make the doc 1 page.

Shrink to fit

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Word and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shrink to Fit Word Document on One Page

  1. Imran says:


    This is not the sulution of my problem. It was easy in MS office 2003 but that option is not in MS office 2007 and further

    I have made a document in A4 size page In which I made a drawing in A3 page size (through Page setup, “Margins” tab, in Preview, selected sections and change paper size in A3). All other document is in A4 Size. Now because of some reason I want to take drawing page in A4 page (through shrink to one page) but it is showing me half page (A3 Half page) in MS office 2003 i was able to shrink A3 page in A4 and take full print. How can i get it in MS office 2010?

    • Steve Chase says:

      I am not familiar with the Word 2003 feature that you have described. It probably was retired in the newer versions of Word. I don’t have a solution in Word. I suggest you give Publisher a try. Publisher is nice for page setup because you work in pages and put your artwork on the page with text boxes.


  2. Jill says:

    Why do I get an error message that says after several attempts work cannot shrink?

  3. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to
    assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment
    and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  4. Susan says:

    Very helpful! I’ve found that this also works for a selection of text within a larger document: After completing Steps 1 & 2 as per your post above, I simply selected the text I wanted on one page, then performed Step 3. Worked like a charm! Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

