Create a Pie Chart in Excel

Step 1: Gather your data and enter it in a list format (without blank rows).

Enter Data together

Step 2: Click on a cell that is within the group you wish to chart, then click the Insert Tab–>Pie button. Pick a choice from 2D or 3D options.

Click Pie Chart Command

Step 3: With the chart selected, observe the ribbon supports the Chart Tools contextual tabs.

Chart Tools

Step 4: Format the chart with the Chart Styles and Chart Layout commands for some quick, professional looking chart templates.

Pie Chart Design Tab in Ribbon has the buttons you need

Download a copy of my Excel Keyboard Shortcuts. Also check my top 8 Excel Tips & Tricks.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Excel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Create a Pie Chart in Excel

  1. Thank you for some other informative website.
    Where else may I am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect means?

    I have a venture that I’m just now running on, and I have been at the glance out for such information.

  2. Awfully exciting object

  3. Terrific Piece of writing

Leave a Reply

