Add a Drop Cap Letter to a Paragraph in Word

A drop cap letter is a large letter that appears at the beginning of a paragraph. Just think “Once upon a time” where the O of Once is large.

Drop Cap in Microsoft Word 2010

To create a drop cap, first place the insertion point in the paragraph you want to apply it to. Then click the Insert tab–>Drop Cap. Choose Dropped or In margin. If you want to customize the drop cap then click Drop Cap Options.

drop cap Word

drop cap options for font choices


About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Add a Drop Cap Letter to a Paragraph in Word

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this
    blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging
    to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a very good job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely quick
    for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

