Create a Line Chart in Excel

Excel has a lot of of beautiful charts to display. Line charts are a great choice if you would like to display a time line with progress. In this post I will teach you how to create a simple line chart with monthly data. My first step is to select the data I want to chart in the spreadsheet. Then after I click the Insert tab I click the Line chart command and pick from the available choices. I can always change my mind later from the Design tab.

Create a Line Chart in Excel- Select Data then click Insert Tab

The Ribbon supports three chart tools contextual tabs (Design, Layout, and Format). I make the chart layout and chart styles choices from the Design tab. I make the shape fill and shape outline formats from the Format tab. I change the layout from the Layout tab. Examples include working with the legend, titles, labels, and gridlines.

Create a Line Chart in Excel- Design Tab has Chart Layouts and Chart Styles

Create a Line Chart in Excel- Layout Tab has labels

Create a Line Chart in Excel- Format Tab has Shape Fill and Shape Outline

A chart has many different objects. For example there is the plot area, chart area, series, legend, title, etc.  The following screenshot shows my final formatting of each of the objects. I clicked on the chart space and then changed the shape oultline to green and increased its width fromt the weight button which is found from the shape outline drop down list. This line chart has markers, which you can format either with a right click-format data series or click the shape fill and shape outline buttons.

Create a Line Chart in Excel- Chart finished

If you would like to practice making a line chart in Excel, download Colorado.xlsx.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Budget, Excel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Create a Line Chart in Excel

  1. Stephen says:

    Hi Steve. I am trying to create a spreadsheet for weight loss plan. column a will have week number. Columb b will have week commencing date. Column c will have the weight in stones and pounds. And I would like column d to automatically calculate the overall change for that week in comparison to week one. Can you help me please with the formula for column d.

    I would also like to display the weight loss/increase on a line chart on a separate page of the worksheet can you advise how to display a line chart with the with weight loss on the x-axis and date along the y axis. Would be good to see the weekly plots but sufficient to have the date showing monthly.
    Thanks for any assistance you can offer.

Leave a Reply

