Create Custom Placeholders within a PowerPoint Slide Master Template

In this post, I am going to show you how you can create a custom layout with your PowerPoint slides. First step is to head on over to the Slide Master View (find this button on the View tab).

Click Insert Layout insert layout powerpoint

Next click the Insert Placeholder button

insert placeholder powerpoint

Since I want to add a slide layout to be for quotes, I choose Text. I will click an option that I want like picture or text. And then I drag it onto the slide in the arrangement I want.


I can remove the bullets and format the placeholder to my liking. In this example, I typed “Insert Quote Here” and centered the text as well as filled it with a gradient. All the formatting tools can be found on the Drawing Tools Format contextual tab. I also added another text placeholder in the lower right hand corner with “Author” as the default placeholder prompt. I clicked the rename button and named my slide Quote. See screen shot below.

custom layout quote slide

And this is what I get after I switch back to normal view and click the New Slide button from the Home tab.

insert a slide from normal view

Next I click on my custom slide and prepare to enter my content.

befor content

Then I type…

after content

And I had to do another slide in memory of Zig Ziglar. One of my heroes and favorite teachers.

2nd quote

I will miss you Zig Ziglar. Thank you for being such an awesome teacher!

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in PowerPoint. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

