Add a Photo to the Plot Area of an Excel Chart

Let me show you how to add your own photo to an Excel chart. First gather your data and click on one of its cells. Click the insert tab–>chart like the screen shot below.

Insert a Column Chart in Excel

After selecting a chart type, modify the chart layout using the command buttons on the chart tools contextual tabs.

Chart Results with formatting layout

Now click the part of the chart like the plot area as I did here. Click the format tab–>shape fill–>picture. And then you browse your computer files for a photo.

Excel Shape Fill...Picture in Plot Area

And the final result after browsing your computer for a photo. I picked a photo I took back in 2010 of the Sangre De Cristo mountains in New Mexico.

Result with Sangre De Cristo mountains picture

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Excel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

