Bypass the desktop and save to SkyDrive directly from Word 2010

A lot of us save Microsoft Word docs to the desktop. Why? I guess because we are creatures of habit. Well, saving a document that you would like to read in the future on any device has gotten a whole lot easier with SkyDrive. This is a free service from Microsoft that allows you to save documents to the thing people call the “cloud”. Really this cloud thing means saving a document to a place that you can access it later to read or edit, from any computer, smartphone, or tablet with Internet connection. So in this post, I am going to show you how to save a Word 2010 document to a folder on a SkyDrive account. I just finished preparing a document I was working on for my son’s Cub Scout den. This year I became a new den leader. It has been a blast and it is exciting to bring back many great memories I had with Scouting.


Document1 not saved anywhere yet

I can  save this document to my SkyDrive folder in 4 clicks.

Click 1: File

Click 2: Save & Send

Click 3: Save to Web

Click 4: Sign In

Actually step 4 may be not be a click after all I’m already logged in.

4 steps to save to skydrive

4 steps to save to SkyDrive

After logging with my username and password credentials, I pick the folder I want to save it to or click the New folder button to create a new one.

Select a folder or create one

Select a folder or create one

I have found that it does take longer than usual to save to SkyDrive than regular folders on the computer. It’s got to be this cloud thing. I sometimes wonder which cloud did my doc really end up in.🙂 Was is Redmond, WA or another place closer? Anyways I’m sure my doc is happy it is saved and retrievable if my hard drive crashes. Another cool part is eventually when I get a new computer this is one less doc I will need to transfer over.

There are two ways to confirm I saved it to SkyDrive. The first one is that the save button on the quick access toolbar has two green arrows around it. The other is when I click File-Info: it has a confirmation “Saved to Microsoft SkyDrive.

Save button has green arrows on it

Save button has green arrows on it

Saved to Microsoft SkyDrive

Saved to Microsoft SkyDrive

These steps also apply to PowerPoint 2010 and Excel 2010.

Click SkyDrive to sign up for your free account.

Disclaimer: I am a member of the Microsoft SkyDrive Insider program.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in SkyDrive, Word. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bypass the desktop and save to SkyDrive directly from Word 2010

  1. Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Leave a Reply

