Join first and last names together using the concatenate function in Excel

Say you have a column of first and last names in Excel. Like first names in column A and last names in column B as I have below. And you want to put them together in column C. You can do this pretty easily without typing the list all over again using the concatentate function.

Select the cell you want the formula in.

Excel concatenate names

Then click the Formulas tab–>Text–>Concatenate.

Excel concatenate names list

In the function arguments box, connect the cells you wish to join. So in my example I have A2 which equal “Mark” to be first. Then I have ” ” which is a empty space inside of quotations to be next. Finally I have B2 which equals “Thompson” to be last. Once I hit OK I can drag the autofill button down (little black square in the corner of the cell) to copy the formula to the next rows.

Excel concatenate final

Another cool tip is that I could generate a quick list of emails if these people all have the same pattern. For example lets say that everyone has the pattern Here is what the result would look like.

Excel concatenate email example

Excel concatenate email example list

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Excel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

