Customize the Ribbon in Microsoft Office

Office 2007 was the first released version of Office with the ribbon. The new layout replaced the top section with larger commands with tabs separating the categories of buttons separted by groups. Anyone remember the standard and formatting toolbars back in Office 2003 and earlier? I’ve had many students who began the day in my classes actually upset with the new change. “How could they do this me…now I’m going to have to learn all over again.” was written all over their face if not flat out said. By end of the day I usually had a smirk because they had changed their minds. They actually had come full circle and desired to not return to work with Office 2003. I’m actually smiling right now as I write this sentence just thinking of the students I have influenced into letting them think and believe they would be more productive with the new ribbon layout.🙂

Fast foward to Office 2010. All of the office programs have the ribbon, including InfoPath, Publisher, OneNote, Visio, and Project. And now you can customize your own ribbon tabs and groups within.

First start out by right clicking the ribbon in whichever program you want to do this in.

Customize Ribbon Right Click the Ribbon to get started

Click the new tab button.

Customize Ribbon New Tab Button

Right click to rename the tab and group.

Customize Ribbon Rename Tab and Groups

Select the command from the left side then click the add button. After arranging the commands you like within your group(s) click OK.

Customize Ribbon Add Commands Button

And finally you have your very own ribbon!

Customize Ribbon

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Access, Excel, OneNote, Outlook, PowerPoint, Publisher, Word and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

