Dave Ramsey reads my letter on air!

I am a big Dave Ramsey fan! I love his radio show and his EntreLeadership course. My wife and I have learned a ton from his Total Money Makeover and EntreLeadership books.  EntreLeadership podcasts, need I say more!

My older boys Ryan- 7 and Charlie- 5 have been using Dave’s Financial Peace Jr. curriculum for over a year now. Each week they earn money for work performed and lose money with fines(age appropriate). Every Saturday the boys have payday they currently are averaging earning anywhere between $1 to $3. I take delight in that they are learning how to save, spend, and give money at a young age. I believe that all my children will live a life of financial freedom during their adult life because Erin and I are teaching them how money really works and preparing them for life.

So back on Martin Luther King Jr. holiday the boys had spent their day off from school creating a vending machine from a box. This box was big enough for one of them to fit inside (Charlie was inside it and scared the daylights out of his Laddie making a purchase). The boys decorated the sides and made holes for dispensing coins and slots for the treats to come out. They made $2.25 and 3 seashells that Monday and Tuesday. This was their follow-up debut from Christmas break where they made $2 in sales using a make-shift table and play grill set to hold the inventory snacks. I also remember them selling some granola trail-mix for $1 to a man on a motorcycle who wanted them for his grandchildren.

You can listen to Dave Ramsey read and respond to my letter on his radio show.

Open for business!

Open for business!

motercycle man buys some for his grandsons

Customer purchases $1 here for treats for his grandchildren

The Vending machines are created after improving the former make-shift tub stands

The vending machine and boys make it up hill to set up shop at the corner bus stop!

the front with 25 cents slot and "Get what you get do't thro a fit"

Front vending side with 25 cents slot and “Get what you Get Do’t thro a Fit” disclaimer!

Leave a comment if  your family has benefited from using Financial Peace Jr.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at 5dollardinners.com.
This entry was posted in Budget, Excel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dave Ramsey reads my letter on air!

  1. palmjanet says:

    Awesome…you might want to read Young Bucks

  2. Congrats on getting featured by Dave Ramsey, Steve. You kids are very blessed to have such caring parents who are teaching them responsible ways to have a good relationship with money, so early in their lives.

    Many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

