Sign a Word document with your signature

You can add your signature to a Word document and have it on file so that it can be reused with Word’s QuickPart’s gallery. I’m going to teach you in this post how to avoid the print, sign, scan back to computer a Word document.


Word Document to Sign

You can use a program like Paint to pen your signature. Paint is free and comes with the Windows operating system.

Open Paint and select a pen tool

Select a brush and etch it out with your mouse.

Paint with Signature

Select the image and copy it to Word. Click Image–>Select and drag a rectangle with your mouse around the signature.

Image Select

You can also take advantage of Word’s screenshot tool if you have Word 2010 or Word 2013.

After you copy the signature to Word, wrap text behind. This is the trick that will let you easily drag and nudge the signature so that it aligns up perfectly with out having your paragraphs go out of whack.

Wrap Text Behind

Now for the coolest part of all. Once you have your signature in Word it is time to save it to the QuickParts gallery.

Select the signature and click the Insert tab of the Ribbon. Then choose QuickParts followed by “Save Selection to QuickPart Gallery…”

Save Selection to QuickPart Gallery

The Create a New Building Block will display. Give it a name and then click Ok.

Create a New Building Block

And now when you are ready to insert your signature in a future document ($$$$$) you can do so with a 3 mouse clicks. Just had to put some dollar signs up there since this is money. Time saved where you can work on other things than fool around with scanning. Simply click the insertion point in the document where you want your signature. Click Insert Tab–>QuickParts–>click your signature.

Insert QuickPart Word

Get creative and add as much content as you would like to the Quick Part Gallery. Make sure the first time you close Word down that you click save when asked about making modifications to the building blocks template.


Make sure to join my mailing list for future posts and blog updates! Sign up in my right side bar.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sign a Word document with your signature

  1. Sarah Weigert says:

    Brilliant, really, but I fear my “signature” will resemble someone with palsy or at minimum too much caffeine. I shall give it a go though as I just use Lucinda Handwriting font for my name and standard font for the rest of my closure in Outlook’s signature area.

  2. Sarah Weigert says:

    @Michiel, thank for the idea, but how do I get a photo into Word to make it a “Quick Parts” ? I have had trouble with Jpg, TIFFs, and good old adobe PDF not importing well into Word or Excel. Can I save a picture as a Signature Quick parts? Just curious. My scanner will save pictures and PDFs, but I have never been able to get it to save as a Word doc. I have a Canon MP600 that is older, but has performed well using MP Navigator for scanning properties etc. for most things. Thanks guys!

    • Steve Chase says:

      Hey Sarah,

      If you have a smartphone you could take a picture of your signature. Email the photo to yourself and open the email on your desktop or laptop with Word on it. Then save the signature to the desktop. From Word, click Insert tab–>Picture. Resize the image, text wrap it behind text then you should be all set to save it as a QuickPart.

      Hope this helps.

    • Michiel says:

      Sarah, if you put your signature on a white piece of paper, you can use your scanner to scan the signature to a jpg file. After that, somewhere on your computer there is a picture file (the one you scanned). You can edit and retouch the picture, maybe you need to crop it before it can be used as a signature.

      Then you go to Word and create the signature tekst, like Steve says. You insert the picture file like you would do with any other picture in Word (insert -> Pictures -> select the right file). After that, set the right properties of the picture (wrap tekst behind it) and position the picture the way you want it.

      Now you select the whole signature (text and picture) and save it to the Quick Part section.

  3. joneses says:

    how to save to word

  4. Diane says:

    How do I lock this so that someone else in my office who opens the file cannot copy and paste my signature into other documents?

    • Steve Chase says:


      I don’t know of an easy way to accomplish your request. Word could block certain portions of the document for editing, however it would leave the ability to copy the text. I believe you could look into IRM, Information Rights Management, which would allow a Word document to not be copied. But, anyone who could open up the document could create a screenshot tool like the snipping tool to capture the signature, then paste it into another doc.

      Lastly, adding a digital signature would be standard as far as signing a document with authenticity to the user. Word can have invisible or visible digital signatures that prove your identity.



  5. Thanks for this precious information i really appropriate it.

  6. yomi says:

    found this article with a Google search.

    superb info on using Paint to sign a Word Doc. Just tried it and it worked perfectly, saved me A LOT of hours on the other option of getting a Scanner to scan my Sig. (i would say 8 hours)…..many thanks, MR Chase.

  7. David says:

    These are all great ideas, but here’s a great one that works if you are using a touch screen 2 in 1 notebook computer. Open windows paint, fold your notebook over to use as a tablet, then using a stylus made for touch screens sign your name on the blank sheet. Then save it, format doesn’t matter if your using word 2013, I don’t know about older versions. I saved my signature in the default PNG format. Then insert your saved signature into the document where you want it. I had to crop and re-size my file a little, but it worked like a charm. I think this will also work with a regular touch screen laptop.

  8. Rigsby says:

    Great article Steve. A question. I’ve got put my signature on a document that has a non-white background. How do I insert it into Word so that the image file containing my signature blends in with the signed document ?? Basically the jpg containing my signature should have a transparent background. Thanks.

    • Steve Chase says:

      Sorry for the late reply because this comment somehow got hung up in the spam filter. Jpg files do not support transparency. You will need to create the signature in another program like photoshop that can make transparency layer. Then save your signature as a png. I have used a png graphic in Word with my signature that had transpaarancy and it worked great. If you don’t have Photoshop, you can still kind of try a work around in Word 2010 or Word 2013. First click the signature graphic, then from the Picture tools format tab you can click the color button. After that you can click “set transparent color”. Then you click on the white part of the graphic and it deletes it. However, this will most likely not work as it leaves jaggy edges around the signature curves.

  9. Thank you, you helped me a lot with my digital signature with this saving-time guide.🙂

  10. Atika says:

    Your tips are very useful and very clear to follow. Excellent stuff, thank you for sharing them.
    The illustration for screen shots you’re having looks good, can you please email me with the name of the tool you’re using to produce them. Is it free? Is it compatible for Mac?

    • Steve Chase says:

      I use 3 tools. The sniping tool which is free on a PC. Also OneNote and PowerPoint 2010 and up have built in screen shot tools. I usually right click and save as .png from PowerPoint.

    • Steve Chase says:

      Also I overlayed the mouse pointer graphic in PowerPoint in top of the screen shot. You can group the objects before right clicking to save as image.

      I found the mouse pointer on a google search.

  11. Bob Stein says:

    I was able to use my touch screen monitor in Win7 to do this task, and it worked really well. My written signature is often not terribly legible, and this method force me to slow down and make a legible version. I actually made two, one with an underline and one without, as aligning with others’ documents is sometime difficult.

  12. Worked great. Thanks for the tutorial.

  13. jill adler says:

    MUAH! thank you. plain and simple. exactly what i was looking for. thank you!

Leave a Reply

