Stay on top of your Excel formulas by using Range Names

Range names in Excel can help you stay on top of things with your formulas. Lets say you kept track of your monthly expenses in cells D3 through D14. In the following example I’ll show you how to create and use a range name called expenses.

excel example

First I need to select the cells I want to give a range name to (B3:B14). Then I click in the name box and type “Expenses” and hit enter.

Name box

Now I’m ready to go to a cell where I want to enter my formula and type =sum(Expenses)

typing formula

And the final value result after I press enter for the formula.

formula range name excel

Range names can not have any spaces nor special symbols like !,@,#,$,%,*. Also the first character can not be a number. It must start with a letter.

Edit range name by clicking “Name Manager” on the formulas ribbon tab.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Excel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stay on top of your Excel formulas by using Range Names

  1. Pingback: How to use Countif and Countifs Functions in Excel for Baseball | Steve Chase Docs

  2. Pingback: Create a Countdown Timer With Dates in Excel | Steve Chase Docs

Leave a Reply

