Use Bookmarks in Microsoft Word to Cross-Reference a Formula Link

Bookmarks in Word give you the ability to link back to them later.  In this post I’m going to explain how make a bookmark for income and expense numbers, then link back to them. I start off by creating a table and placing a formula =SUM(ABOVE) in it by clicking formulas from the Layout tab.

Table Word Formulas

After I have the formula, I select the total value for income then click the Insert tab–>Bookmark.

Name the boomark without spaces then click add.

Insert a Bookmark in Word

When my insertion point in position, I click Cross-Reference from the Insert or Reference tab. I choose “Bookmark” from the reference type drop down and “Bookmark text” from the Insert reference to dropdown. I also chose the bookmark I want from the which bookmark list.

Cross Reference Bookmarks Word

After clicking “Insert”, the formula value I want is there.

Bookmarks insert word

After right clicking the formulas and bookmarks I select update.

Word Bookmarks update right click

Tip: For the quickest way to update everything, select the whole document with Control + A. Then hit the F9 key to update all fields.

If you want to work with the Word document I used click here Bookmarks and Cross References

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Use Bookmarks in Microsoft Word to Cross-Reference a Formula Link

  1. I would like to take this opportunity to state just
    how much I get pleasure from checking out this blog site.
    It never ever fails to make me think… Or perceive things differently

Leave a Reply

