Make the Parameter Values Show Up in an Access Report

In this post I’ll share with you one of my favorite tricks to customizing an Access report with parameter values in the header. Lets say that you build a report off a query that prompts the user to enter a start date and an end date. The following screenshots will show you how to add a text box in the report to share the date range of the reporting period.

First setup the query with a date field as shown below. Read my blog post on parameter queries here.

Query Parameter Date range setup

When you run the query you will be ask to enter the parameter values for the start date and end date.

enter start date parameter value

Enter end date parameter value

Once you save the query, click the query just once in the navigation pane. Then click Create–>Report. Save the report. You will need to reference the report name later.

Switch the report to design view and expand the header length.

Add more space in Access Report

Add a text box with the following formula

=Reports![Report Name]![Parameter Name]

Add optional labels to make the report look more appealing.

Text Boxes and Labels in Access Report

Run the report, enter the parameters, and smile when the dates you entered in the parameter boxes are visible in the report!🙂

Access Report Print Preview

Download the Database file I used for the screenshots here from my SkyDrive account.


Happy Reporting!

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Access and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Make the Parameter Values Show Up in an Access Report

  1. Danny says:

    I got the parameter value to show in the report title by using =[Reports]![Reportname]![ParameterName}. However when I drop that same report in a nav link, the report when its ran now comes back with a #Error for the report title. Am I missing something?

    • Steve Chase says:


      Bummer it does not work. I think it probably has to do with the code with the navigation link. I’m not sure how to fix it. Perhaps you could post the question in the Access Community forums at

      Good luck, I hope you can find someone that can help. Sorry that I don’t have experience with navigation links.

  2. Harold DeWayne says:

    Works GREAT for me… Thanks Steve.

  3. Pingback: Make the Parameter Values Show Up in an Access Report | icemandave

  4. says:

    I was able ot get this to work. only problem is that date range will not print up on the any page after the 1st page. The labels appear but not the dates. I have it in the page header not the report header so I an ot sure what the problem is.

    • Steve Chase says:

      You can make a print selection print across multiple pages from the Page Setup dialog box. Access this by clicking “Print Titles” then click in the Rows to repeat at top area and select the date range you want.


  5. Bobbie Jones says:

    I am doing this is Access 2010, when I click on the report it has me enter the data two times. One for the query and one for the report. Any clue how to get it so the user only needs to enter the date once.

    • Steve Chase says:

      I’m not sure why it is prompting twice. Maybe you could check the property sheet drop down and make sure you don’t have an extra text box listed. Maybe when it got copied and pasted somehow. The one from the Query will automatically be pulled into the report.

  6. Allan V. Pimble, Sr. says:

    Thank you very much, Bobbie. This is exactly what I need. I have also played around with the format:

    =Format([Reports]![Report Name]![Beginning Date],”mmm/dd/yyyy”) & ” Through ” & Format([Reports]![Report Name]![Ending Date],”mmm/dd/yyyy”)

    This gives me Jul 13, 2015 Through Jul 17, 2015 in one field. The extra spaces around the word ‘through’ is for visual effect only, due to the font in use in the report.

  7. Jackson says:

    @bobby jones
    If you are getting prompted twice you most likely have an improper filter and order defined on the data tab of the property sheet for the report. Happens to me in access 10 everytime I copy a report and query. I simply delete the Filter, Order By, and Order By On Load settings and the issue goes away.

  8. Ramona says:

    Hi Mr. Chase – I was hoping that your elegant solution would work for text parameters as well? I have the user enter a last name to see if the individual requires any outstanding training. Currently, if the user requires no training the report is blank (since there is no underlying data returned from the query). That’s why I was hoping to populate the input parameter from the user and have that show up in the report as “Lname” has no data.
    But thank you for this since I know it’ll come in handy at some future point!

    • Steve Chase says:

      Yes you can have someone’s last name show up in the report’s via the parameter the same way I used dates.

      • Ramona says:

        I did try your solution with the inputted “lname” and “fname” by the user but the resulting output in the text box on the report is #Name😦

      • Steve Chase says:

        hmmm. I would first make sure the query works with the parameter prompt. Second, then test the report with the exact same parameter value. Have to be extra careful that the wording doesn’t have anything extra that doesn’t belong in the text boxes and that it is in the header.

      • Ramona says:

        Yes, thank you for your help!

  9. Ezz says:

    Thank you, that’s very helping. Any idea to make the textbox show the dates in a different format than the one entered? I changed the format of the textbox to be dd-MMM-yyyy. However, it shows the exact format that is entered in the message

    • Steve Chase says:

      If you add the Format function it should work to how you want to format the date. The Format function first argument is the expression. This would be the parameter prompt. the second argument would be “dd-MMM-yyyy”. An example is =Format([enter the start date],”dd-MMM-yyyy”). You have to put parameter in square brackets and the dates within quotes. Hope this posts correctly with the formatting. Sometimes the HTML messes up the formulas.


  10. Ingrid says:

    Hello, I have a question: this process works only if output of the query is not blank. If it is, the parameters are displayed as #Error. Do you have some ideas how to solve it? (I’m creating report about broken limits each week and sometimes the outcome is blank, but I have to report also that no limit was broken). Thank you.

    • Steve Chase says:

      Ingrid, I’m not sure exactly but I can give to thoughts if you want to try to use programming with a macro or vba. First, I think that you could use the IF THEN ELSE statement that read if the records are blank, then prepare a message box. Second there is a built in macro event on the report for “On No Data”. You explore that option to trigger another report or a msg box with a message. Might need to expore the Access community forums pages to see what others in the community are saying, especially the Access MVPS.

  11. Floyd says:

    Steve, I am thankful for your post! It helped me immensely solving my design issue. I created the report and had it show the date range but I to am still having the problem of it asking for the start and end dates two times. Other than that it seems fine. I don’t know where in the property sheet to find if it’s entered twice. Can you elaborate on that just a little?

    • Steve Chase says:

      Hi Floyd, if you are having it ask you twice then then it would be a text box control in the property sheet. Double check your original text box formula to make sure that it is not causing the second parameter prompt. Also inspect the Query that the report is based on. Could be coming from that data source.

  12. leifottar says:

    Hi Steve,
    You really made my day.
    This saved me a lot of programming time. Very smooth.
    “Why didn’t I think of that”
    Thank you so much.

  13. Miche Bernier says:

    Thank you so much ! This worked Great, after spending hours trying to find work around(s) that might do the trick this finished my database for Management so quickly …. Thank you Thank you Thank you !

  14. Ledra says:

    Is there anyway that the parameters/selection criteria itself be printed on the report? Our Auditors want to see that I am not purposely excluding anything in the report. Something Similar to Crystal Report’s Special Field “Record Selection Formula”

    • Steve Chase says:

      Maybe you could open the Access query in SQL view, then copy and paste the SQL into a label onto the Access Report header section. 1. Open the query in design view. 2. right click the query tab window and then select SQL. The SQL will match how the report is being selected with the WHERE clause on the criteria of filtering and the fields the query is selecting.

  15. This is great and I am using this but notice that if you go to print preview it loses the parameters so a quick fix was to have the form have a few extra buttons like print the report right away and thus retaining the parameters

Leave a Reply

