How I Started my Video Tutorials on YouTube

I recently started a YouTube channel to upload videos for Microsoft Office software training. This post will walk through my steps I use. I go through a 3 step process workflow to publish a YouTube video.

  1. Record
  2. Edit
  3. Upload


I was excited to find a free utility tool from Microsoft called Screen Recorder that allows for computer screen recording. This link will take you to the TechNet page for a download that Burak Uysaler developed.

screen recorder

I double click the screen recorder icon on my desktop to get started.

Then I select from the drop down list the program I want to record and check the audio box.

setup recorder setup

Next I click “Please click here to specify filename”. Once I have established the file name and folder path I click “Start”.

start button screen recorder

The format that the recording creates is a Windows Media Audio/Video file (*.wmv).


Once I have the recording it would be possible to upload it to YouTube. However, I use a video editor to make adjustments, transitions, and final edits. I use Adobe Premiere Elements 12.

Adobe Premier home page

When I finish the edits in Adobe Premiere I click Publish –>AVCHD –>YouTube Widescreen HD. There are tons of other formats and I tried others and settled on this one because it gets the job done.

Adobe Premiere publish

Another option to make video edits for free is the Windows Movie Maker.

Windows Movie Maker home page

Movie Maker has some very nice features to do the basics and then even can upload to YouTube.

Movie Maker publish to YouTube


Log into YouTube and create a channel. Your channel is where you upload to. The requirement to do this a Google account. If you already have a Gmail email then you are already set. After creating a channel then you are all set to click “Upload” button and manage the account from the “Video Manager” button.

YouTube channel

Finalize the project while it is uploading with a Title, Description, Tags, and Category.

YouTube upload settings

Depending the size it could take a few minutes to upload. Once it is uploaded you’ll get a confirmation message.

Download this document resource and others from my SkyDrive folder.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in SkyDrive and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

