Use the Pens Tab in Word to Quickly “Pen” Your Signature

The Pens tab can be added to the Word 2010/2013 Ribbon. This will allow you to easily “pen” your signature to a Word document.Pens Tab in Word

Below is an example of a signature line you might want to add your signature to.

Example of Sign a Document in Word

The fist step in adding the Pens tab is to right click the ribbon and select “Customize the Ribbon” Then from the “Choose commands from” drop down choose the Tool Tabs. Click the Pens tab below the ink tool then click add.

Customize the Ribbon in Word

Once you click OK you will have the pens tab to work with. Click the pen style you like and your cursor pointer turns into a drawing tool. To get the normal selection arrow back, click the “Select Objects” command.

Final Example of Signed Word Document

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Word and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Use the Pens Tab in Word to Quickly “Pen” Your Signature

  1. Sarah Weigert says:

    This is great! However, I look like a third grader wrote it. Is it just a matter of practice?

  2. bruce wilson says:

    any chance this can work with Word 2007 ?

    • Steve Chase says:

      I just looked and found the Ink Tools – Pen Tools available. You won’t be able to make it into a new tab because Office 2007 did not support that feature. You could however, add the pen tool to the Quick Access Toolbar.

  3. Charlie Johnson says:

    Steve – thanks for the informative article. When I use the Pen feature in Word 2010 on an HP EliteBook, the signature disappears when converted to PDF. Do you have any ideas why it does not display? I have custom stamps applied to the page and they display in the PDF, just not the signature. The EliteBook is a touch screen device that users can draw their signatures on the screen. In my case, the final output is PDF, so this is a concern.
    Charlie Johnson

  4. walid shihab says:

    I followed the steps and got the “pen” tab.All the features are grey, however, so I cannot select the pen nevertheless colors. Any idea how can i solve this “grey” issue

    • Steve Chase says:

      I have seen this happen before on one of my computers. I don’t know if there is a solution unless you try a different computer or tablet. I think it has to do with the video card?


  5. MIguel says:

    Hi Steve,
    In Office 2013 (Excel and Word), the Pens tab buttons (color, eraser, etc) are disabled.
    How I can activate?, it is a bug of the program?
    Thanks in advance

  6. Lyndsy says:

    I wrote a signature in “Paint”, copied and pasted to Word doc and voila! Pens tab was no longer grayed out!!๐Ÿ™‚

  7. memhca says:

    Hi Steve, Great feature. My PENS icon was grey too AND the colors did not work but when I chose a line width, the cursor was enabled ! Thought folks would like to know.

Leave a Reply

