Scale to Fit Excel Spreadsheet to Print One Page

The Page Layout tab in Excel 2007, 2010, and 2013 has a scale to fit group. Change the Width to equal 1 page and the Height to equal 1 page from the drop down lists.

scale to fit group

After you change it to 1 page for the width and the height you will notice the scale changes from 100% to a lower amount if it necessary.

excel scale to fit 1 page

I think that anything over 70% should work. Lower values will obliviously make the font smaller when printed.



About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in Excel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scale to Fit Excel Spreadsheet to Print One Page

  1. Ramos, K (Kimberly) says:

    I love this feature, and wanted to add that, if you document is long, you can leave the Width set to Auto and it will print all columns on one page and then as many pages as needed to include all the rows.

    (I’m trying to comment by replying because my organization’s web filtering will not allow blog posts.)

    Warm regards,

    Kim Ramos
    Administrative Assistant
    Rabobank N.A.
    Wealth Management Division

Leave a Reply

