Create Screen Recordings with PowerPoint’s Office Mix Add-in

With PowerPoint 2013 or 2016, you can create screen recordings and then save video as an mp4 format. First you will need to get Office Mix for free.

Once you download Office Mix, your PowerPoint Ribbon Mix tab will look like this.

mix tab

Click the Screen Recording button to get started. It will give you an option to drag a selection around the portion of the screen you want to record.

video portion drag


Then you receive a 3-2-1 countdown. The recording will capture any mouse movements that come into the screen space you selected.

After you stop the recording, the video will be embedded into the PowerPoint slide. Right click the video and choose save media as….mp4.

save as mp4

I use this to create my video demos on my blog and then upload them to YouTube. Here is my last video I created about my favorite 6 Excel tips.

mp4 save

The Office Mix tool is one of my favorite software application tools.

About Steve Chase

I'm a proud husband and dad to 4 boys! Microsoft Certified Trainer and Boy Scout Leader are some of things I call myself. The Cincinnati Reds are my favorite team! When not outdoors, I enjoy working with documents in Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Visio and Photoshop. My wife, Erin, shares her awesome recipes on her blog at
This entry was posted in PowerPoint and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Create Screen Recordings with PowerPoint’s Office Mix Add-in

  1. Ed Arriaga says:


Leave a Reply

